Internship or Continue Study?

I’m after some advice for my educational and professional development.

I’m a part-time Industrial Design student working full-time in a non-design role.

I’m up for long-service leave this September (I’m not sure how it is in other countries but here in Australia after ten years continual service you get three months paid leave) and I am trying to decide if I should spend this leave doing an internship or to enrol in full-time study .

I view an internship (hopefully overseas) as a fantastic opportunity, especially since I would be financially able to afford it (using my long-service leave), and it would be great to spend some time in another country so my wife and kids could also enjoy the experience.

A family member who has just finished her degree the hard way (studying part-time while working full-time) has suggested using my long-service leave to ‘overload’ my studies and get as much of my course finished as possible.

I can see the benefits in doing both. I think an internship would be better in terms of real-world experience and it would also be a good break for me and my family, but would finishing my degree first (then looking at an internship later on) be better overall?
I’m about half-way into my degree. It would be another 3-4 years before I am finished if I continue working full-time.

Nice, a three-month paid vacation. We have nothing comparable to that in the US. Is your job guaranteed when you return from leave?

Plan A
Finish your education in the shortest time possible. If you intern now your experience will be several years old by the time you complete your education. And while a three-month internship probably sounds attractive after ten straight years of work, it is not a long time on-the-job; your personal “experience” may not actually turn out to be as pertinent, or extensive, as you may have hoped it would be.

Plan B