internship at karim rashid?????

I am an industrial design graduate from India, in need of some international exposure. The other day I saw Karim Rashid’s web site, and learnt that they are open for interns. I am interested in going for it. but before I do it I wanted to know if it is really worth for a just graduate like me to do unpaid internship at Rashid’s . Wud it be a really lifetime experience?? has anyone done it before??

It would be good if you wanted to work for an egotistical a**hole.

That aside you should go for it. whats the worst that could happen…He could say no. Oh well. One thing that I like to tell recent grads is go for those big names but don’t let the little names put you off either. I work for one of the largest candy manufactures in the world doing packaging and have a great time doing it and its a wonderful job. Is it a glamorous as Rashid? No. But I bet that I am learning and expanding my design knowledge just as much if not more.

So i guess what I am trying to say is…Shoot for the stars but don’t get discouraged if you have to take some jobs with smaller firms or corprate companies to get ther.

Karim mostly covers the aesthetic aspect. If that is what you want go for it. The other side of design is creating manufacturable well thought out products. Every designer will have their own understanding on the matter.
Ideally you want to be well rounded in both form and function.

Do you see your strenghts? Do you see your weaknesses? Are you more at ease with form or function? You can focus on your weak spots, since you will always have your strengths.

Good luck.

Notice there are two types of designers, design cannot exist without either one. It would be like missing a color out of a rainbow.