Interested in Grad ID program. Am I lacking qualifications?

Hey new to this site but have been reading many of the posts. Really helpful. I’m a illustrator and graphic designer. I’ve been doing freelance work for 6 years or so in GD, Comic book, and children’s book illustration. I’m interested in going back to school for either ID or VCD. In looking at schools I find myself worried about my qualifications. Specifically the need for some 3D objects for my portfolio. I have a lot of drawing, painting, print making, and computer experience. But I’ve never been to a formal art school. I studied Philosophy of math and science. I’m currently taking a CAD course to get some experience with that program.

I found the Grad v undergrad post very helpful. I’m more interested in what was expressed about grad programs. But do I have any chance without a more design based undergrad past? My goal is to work in developing countries, past Peace Corps experience pushes me in this direction.

Does anyone have any thoughts advice. What programs I should expect to learn? You can look at some of my work at www.madseadog.com if that will help. Thanks,

why are you even looking do to an (ID i’m assuming, you didnt mention it specifically) grad program?

your comic stuff is great! you’re not happy continuing that? you’ve got great talent for sure…

as for working in developing countries, what exactly did you have in mind wrt. ID?

R

you want to work as an industrial designer in a developing country, correct?

I’m not really sure what to tell you, but when someone wants to work in a particular city, for example, we tell them to move there and hustle freelance untill someome picks them up full time. I’d advise picking an industry common to a region you want to work in and start focusing your efforts there.

Thanks,