Instruction manuals

Looks like this section of the forum is rather quiet, but I will give it a try.

I am new to toy design, but what I really care about is applying design know-how to education. I am in Taiwan and other than my own industrial design work, I work with local rural schools to host different extra-curriculum activities and workshops for the students. I hope one day I will be hosting workshop for the teachers instead. Anyways, that’s a long story.

This semester, I started a program that aims to provide exposure of mechanical designs to students. The school gave me two periods in the morning (about 1h20m) for six weeks. My plan is the following general process. 1. Experience, 2. Understand, 3. Create. The school assigned me their 4th graders.

For the first phase of the program, I brought a whole bunch of the current generation of Zoids, which are mechanical dinosaurs and creatures that mimics movements. The toys are to be assembled by the player, and are either powered by electric motor or spring loaded mechanisms. Anyways, I love them and you should check them out on youtube or something.

So what happened was completely outside of my expectation. A good portion of the kids did not even know what to do with the instruction manual. Many of them found the experience challenging (but fun). Now, these Zoids toys are definitely rated for kids below their age, and the current generation toys are way easier then how they were when I was a kid. What happened was these kids have very little exposure to self-assembled toys, therefore lack the experience and “tactical approach” to tackle the problem. I realized that “patience” is the key to managing this task, and these kids have yet to learn that. They are too eager and put parts together regardless the step sequence, and could not calm themselves down enough to observe details on the correct orientation of the parts as shown on the manual graphics.