Industrial Engineer + Industrial Designer??

I was just going to write the same post you just did. I am currently studying industrial engineering in madrid, however what I really want to do (have discovered in the process…) is industrial design. I find it more creative and what i want to do in the future.

However I still have 2 more years (in spain is 5 years) to go…

What I was wondering was a couple of things…

1. Although in my own time i have read many books on design, I have used photoshop for a 6 years now, 3dmax, and have done some jobs on web and print design… I wanted to know what are the general basic “requirements” to work on a design team now a days on companies?
  2. Is my Industrial Engineering studies enough to get involved in de design market, or should I study (after I finish my studies) a Industrial Design?
  3. Could I just study a Masters degree (on say transport design)?
  4. Would a combination of engineer and designer be suficiently valued after all the effort?

There are many more questions I have related to all this… but a few answers to these would be very valuable from me…

I am trully on a dilema. Since although I enjoy engineering, design is without a doubt my vocation…

Thank you very much in advance for any reply

how do you feel about math?

Your answer will determine what you need to do

I dont have much of a problem with math… however in the future I prefer working on the ideas, on the artistic side, in the creative part of design. I have learned much about fluids, calculations, aerodinamic models, heat transfer, termodinamic motors, electronics, and mechanics… But in my future job in the design world I DONT want to be the engineer that puts the fisical restrictions on the on the prototype develop by the industrial designers. I want to be a industrial designer. I want to put the ideas and the artistic side to the development (with the sligth advantage of having an initial notion of the limits of my designs).