Industrial Design Vs Product Design

Hi guys,

That day i came across the discussion board posted something rather similar regarding this topic, unfortunately i couldn’t find it. In that discussion people are talking about the differences between " terms" Industrial Design & Product Design.

I’d always known that Industrial Design - is a mass produced term used - or rather Product & Industrial is just a term, perhaps just different spelling. ( Even Yo had stated that not all Industrial goods are mass produced ).

I was actually taken aback when i was inquiring for for a Product Design Degree Program, as i’m a graduate Diploma in Industrial Design. The lecturer told me that Product Design differs from what i was learning before so it might be a little bit different, which product design focus more on the aesthetics & lesser part on the ergonomics unlike the Industrial Design.
( i was/am … troubled as i’d always place ergonomics as one of the main principles in designing ). Any thoughts on this ?
All these while i regard Industrial & Product design as the same! ? :exclamation:

LOL

What an idiot :wink:

He’s probably one of those designers that make a flashy chair but your actually be better of sitting on a pile of rocks.

atohms - Why don’t you go to Fox News where they prefer to stop a discussion whether than starting one. Try to talk intelligently when in the presence of others.

onion24 - After the many times this has been discussed both here and in other places I will attempt to distill what has been said in order to create a starting point for discussion.

The two terms come from different ages of the profession. Product design was used earlier and in the 50’s or 60’s Industrial Design became the agreed on term for our profession. It remains mixed and even I use the older term sometimes because most people don’t know what an Industrial Designer is. They think we build factories or we are Industrial engineers.