industrial design or architecture

Hello!

I am a freshman in architecture and so far I love my first year. We’re learning about design, not really anything related to buildings yet. I am considering, however, switching over to industrial design. I had originally selected architecture b/c being in a top 3 school, it would be easier to switch from arch to another major rather than vice versa. In the future I see myself as a designer of everything- from buildings to products to furniture- in a firm like Starck. I am just wondering if anyone has advice on whether or not I should stick in the arch program or switch. For what reasons are you happy you choose industrial design rather than architecture and vice versa? Thank you so much for helping me with this decision.

Sorry to pop your baloon, but if you have to ask these questions about “switching” back and forth, you should probably switch out of any design-related field altogether.

You sound like someone strictly after a degree, no more. You won’t survive either Architecture or ID without passion.

No- design is my passion- that’s all i want to do. However, I want to be able to design everything as a professional- not just buildings, not just products. Would it be easy for me to find a job designing a wide variety of things with an architecture degree? I’ve already asked my studio profressors, and I can’t double major.

designk

One thing you need to keep in mind is that architects need to be certified in order to practice with a license. You can gain this certification without a degree in architecture or architectual engineering but it takes several additional years as an intern before you are elligible to take the certification exam. For example, with a degree in arch you only need to intern for approxiamtely two years before you can take the exam. Without the degree you need to intern for six years before you are eligible. This varies slightly from state to state, but that is the general rule.