Industrial Design and where it is going?

Can anyone direct me towards unbiased information regarding the field of industrial design and where it is projected to go in the future? I have been a student in product design for 2 years now and am just curious of where it is going now.

I feel personally that design is a rapidly growing field in general because that is how media portrays it but any unbiased and or outside information on it would be the best.

Thanks,
Matt

I’ve already stated that I think Industrial Design is a dead field. I’ve thrown my hat into what I call Transreality Design.

how so? seems like there many jobs out there, growing competition, but i could be wrong…

I didn’t say design was dying. It’s the “industrial” part that’s dying. The tag itself has diminished in meaning from when the occupational term was coined. It’s becoming meaningless. Worse yet, it’s a confusing term. The general public, if asked, is just as likely to say an Industrial Designer is a person who designs factories!

And just bc there are ID jobs doesn’t mean that there is real industrial design going on (if we could even all agree on what that means). I know some people who do nothing but copy aesthetics, throw it into CAD and call it a day. And that’s what they were hired to do. I don’t call that ID. Where’s the real “design” in that? So even beyond the changes coming due to breakthroughs in fabrication techniques (like Metal Laser Melting), the term itself has become diluted. Anyone and everyone is a “designer” today. Just like I’m a journalist, a chef, a financier, an investment analyst, etc etc.

As far as I’m concerned, we may as well scrap the term entirely. We could perhaps stake out Product Design (as distinct from Product Engineer). And there are other areas as well. But Industrial Design suffers on several counts. Let it go.

ok, but isn’t that just semantics? what is the distinction between industrial and product design? is there one?