Industrial design and the single life?

I’ve noticed that many designers don’t tend to stay in one location for a long period of time. I’m a pretty good example. Since I graduated in 2006, I moved to Western Massachusetts, then moved back home and now I’m in Columbus working under contract. What may dictate my next move will be the next full time opportunity, seeing how I need to gain more work experience.

With all this moving around, I feel that the dating life is a little more challenging. I really do enjoy seeing different parts of the country, but I do know that eventually I will have to find a place in which I could call home and start settling down.

Can anyone else here relate? Does anyone have any interesting stories about moving and seeing different areas of the country or even the world?

Well, ID has taken me to foreign lands where it’s easy to meet women but yeah lots of freelance ID guys I know are single cause of the uncertainty of the profession, unpredictible hours, and lack of steady income, etc. Corporate IDers tend to be more settled in lifestyle.

Interesting topic Sachin, I’m like you I don’t wish to stay in one location for a long period of time… as there is so many places to see, so many different experiences and cultural environments to learn form.

I personally graduated in Paris France, and moved to Beijing China 3 years ago, and I’m planning the next move soon. However, we made the last move together with my wife, and we will make the next together. I think as long as you are with the person/the people you love, anywhere can be your home. But you have to be on the same page with your partner from the beginning, otherwise… troubles ahead…

My wife’s born in Thailand and lived in different areas of the world (diplomats parents), I’m French and travelled the world since I’m teenager, so it’s our life, that’s what keep us going and what keeps me inspired as a designer…