Income range for an ID to start his/her own business

Hi!

I am an ID in a tech company in California with roughly 10 years working experience. Recently I have been thinking about starting my own business, either designing and launching a product or doing design consultancy. This is due to my desire to do more interesting projects and have a more sustainable career path. As anyone can imagine, the projects in a tech company are pretty similar one from another and I personally don’t have a strong desire to take the manager path to manage people.

Since still have a family to raise, financial side of this decision also needs to be considered. In the past weeks, I have been looking for financial information about different business for designer to start, hoping to guide my decision and convince my wife as well. But it’s really difficult to find any information except from those big names.

It would be great if anyone can share what he/she knows about the range of the income for these scenarios below. I hope this is also interesting for other designers as well.

1. A designer who have a product (e.g vase or lamp) being sold in MoMa design store or other design stores? The designer might fully invest in the manufacture part or partner with a vendor in Asia and get royalty. For this type of products, the volume is relatively low but they are highly beautiful, artistic and welcomed by design lovers.

2. A designer who only design products for companies and get royalty (e.g. designing furniture pieces for European furniture companies).

3. A designer who designs and sells a product online for mass market (e.g, designing a versatile iphone case and selling it on its website or amazon). For this type of products, probably they are less ‘designed’ and mostly made for mass market.

4. A designer who runs a small design studio(1-3 ppl) and do traditional ID consultant for small companies (e.g startup which doesn’t have any ID).

Many thanks!