Improvement tips?

Hi.

Aside from “practice, practice, practice” do you have any tips or resources that have helped you to improve your drawing and sketching proficiency?

I am a Freshman and have just recently been accepted into the ID program at the university I attend. We had to submit a portfolio to get into the program, so my drawing skills are passable, but I know that there is massive room for improvement. In addition, at the end of Sophomore year the number of students in the program is culled from 30 to 12 students, so I can use all the help I can get.

I do spend about 1/2 hr per day practicing sketching (still-life things, usually) in addition to drawings required for class, because that’s all my schedule allows for, what with work and class assignments. I am particularly interested in ways to help me draw faster and more accurately, as well as improving my ideation sketches.

Any tips, hints, and resources are greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Go through the sketching forum, this has been asked a dozen times.

A few tips:

Sketch with others, both better and worse than you. As you help each other, you will help yourself.

Benchmark, who do you want to sketch better than? Who has a style you think communicates ideas well. Print out plenty of reference.

Study, take photos of objects, study how light plays off of things, try to communicate an object with as few lines as possible, what can you leave out? what detail is necessary?

and practice more.

View objects in real space in your daily life as 2D renderings.

Easy example, look at a skyscraper. If you’re standing at the corner of the building, you’ll see two different color fields depending on the lighting at the time. Look at them as two large color blocks, see how those color blocks are shaped. Paying attention to this practice can really teach you the real ratio of dark to light in real life, as well as proper perspective.