I'm looking to go back to school. Please help.

Hello everyone,

I was posting a bit in one of the stickied threads and realized I’m going in different directions that didn’t fit the thread topic.

I graduated from Northeastern University in Boston last year with a bachelor’s in Computer Science and Psychology. I’m currently working as a QA Engineer at a software company. I realized that I don’t want to do this anymore. I don’t want to program, I don’t want to do network security, IT, etc etc. I thought I would because I love computers … but not like this.

I’ve made up my mind that I want to get into Industrial Design.

Now, I’ve only started researching this for the past week, so I don’t know much at all.

I decided that I want to go into Product Design.

How do I do this with my situation?

Do I basically have to start all over? I see that MassArt in Boston has an ID program. I was thinking of just going there if I end up staying in Boston. My girlfriend may get into school in Ohio, in which case I would go there and apply for a school there. (Case Western for her … so I’m guessing Cleveland institute of Art for me).

So let’s say I wanted to go to MassArt because she got into school here in Boston.

How does Art School work? I have to make a portfolio to apply? Similar to how Universities look at SAT scores? Does my current degree count for anything? If it doesn’t, then I obviously have to start over. If it does … should I start from there or should I start over anyway so that I can learn the basic skills?

Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated. I feel so lost, but at the same time I feel like I’ve found my dream. I’m already 25 years old and I keep telling myself that it’s now or never. Either I’ll wake up 10 years from now wishing I had done design, sitting at some computer job hating every day of it … or I’ll wake up and WANT to go to work.