I'm a shoe designer - needing a plush toy prototyper

I’m working on a character licensed project right now, plush slippers - the client wants caricatures of the shows’ characters rendered in plush.

I’m managing to render the caricatures just fine on paper, infact I’m pretty impressed with what I’ve done so far. I’m enjoying the challenge! :slight_smile: I love getting odd projects like this one!

But I’m not sure about the slipper factory capeability - I’m worried about the interpretation of my specs - I think I need a plush toy prototyper in the middle to make sample ‘heads’ for me - muppet type of plush toy. I think if I can pass someting like this to the factory then i’ve half a chance of it working.

Where on earth do I start? :confused: Should I be gtting this prototype made in China? Or in the UK (where I’m based?) Where do I find toy prototypers who specialize in plush?

Help!

You could maybe start on the plush section of Tomopop. They will usually have postings for plushes made by independent designers.
A blog like Plush it, though it hasn’t been updated for a while has some links and posts about other indy plush creators that you may want to contact.

Hope that helps with a jump off at least.

Hmmm so far I think the stuff you’ve posted is just too hip - as this product is caricatures of real actors and the target customer is not young or hip (it’s meant to be a joke gift product), I really don’t want anything that looks like trendy collectibles. I was thinking more along the lines of toy factory pattern cutter with enough artistic flair in order to turn my renders inot prototypes. Think this is going to be a challenge. I’m going to look at the portfolios…thanks anyway :slight_smile: