ID to architecture

Im an industrial designer seriously interested in taking on architecture…does anyone have any suggestions or know of the best way to pursue a degree…I currently have a BA in ID

happens all the time. Architecture has a particular degree for people switching fields, the M.Arch 1. That takes 3-3.5 years, is accredited, and offered by a ton of schools. Portfolio is required for admissions, but because M.Arch 1 programs admit separately from programs for people who have an architecture undergrad, it’s fine if it’s work in the fine arts, ID, interiors, graphic design… anything that shows your creativity and your current skill level. Not that you shouldn’t make it the best you can since many programs are extremely competitive, but they understand that going into those programs you won’t necessarily have architectural projects to put in there.

You’re probably a little late in the application season to get together a really good app, but I’d suggest that you check out http://www.naab.org/cal_cat1724/cal_cat.htm to start finding programs that might interest you.

he’s right.

Also, to be a licenced Architect you have to have a Masters degree.
(I think NY was the last holdout that accepted Bachelors)

why would you want to go from ID to arch? honestly asking.

i know many people who have done the reverse, but nobody gone from ID to architecture.

i was initially planning to do arch and applied (and was accepted to several top arch schools here in Canada), but luckily found ID and never looked back.

from what i hear, ID has a lot better job placement stats and in the end you do a lot more actual work. at best for lots of arch grads you’ll do a shed for someones backyard or maybe a kitchen reno or something. thats after 5+ years of study and a few more of apprenticeship, btw.

the best way my past ID dean explained it that convinced me to go into ID, was something like this- (a bit idealistic, but still).

"