ID schools - grad vs. undergrad

hi,
hoping to get some advice here from ID students/professionals. I have an undergraduate degree in architecture, but have been working in communications for the past 5 years. i’m ready to get my brain working creatively again, and have decided to study ID (ideally product design, perhaps communication design).

i’ve been looking at schools, and it seems like the majority of graduate-level programs are designed for students with an ID background. since i don’t have one, i feel like i have two options:

a) a secondary undergraduate degree from a school like DAAP or arts center
b) an “interdisciplinary” graduate degree, from a school like IIT or the “designed objects” program at the art institute of chicago.

any insights onto which of these would be more valuable? i hear such good things about DAAP and loved their program/facilities, but question whether four years in school and a second bachelor’s degree makes sense when other options will get me through school, with an advanced degree, more quickly.

thanks much!

why arent you interested in architecture?

buildings are beautiful, but the working environment in architecture blows pretty hard. I’ve got a B.Arch and am looking to go back for graphic design… I’ve noticed that some programs offer a year of ‘post-grad’ that doesn’t lead to a degree but covers the basics. Maybe do one of those and then apply to a masters program?

rationalist hit the nail on the head - architecture seemed pretty thankless and less design-oriented than i’d have hoped. ID seems like it will be a bit more pragmatic and grounded.

Pragmatic and grounded are two things not often associated with ID graduate degrees, but I understand that it is difficult to get financial aid for a second undergrad.

thanks, yo - is this your subtle way of telling me that an undergrad is probably sufficient for a career in actual product design?

LOL: I guess it was a bit enigmatic.