ID Portfolio likes long walks on the beach

Hi guys,

I’m a sophomore ID student at Carnegie Mellon. Just recently completed my web portfolio after months of “well that doesn’t look good”, “this slideshow doesn’t work”, and “WOAH CSS3!”

Anyway, I’m looking for some feedback so I can make this portfolio communicate as best as it can. I like, and probably will maintain, the overall navigation system. However, I see where I can improve in areas such as adding more process, captions, and maybe categories.

I appreciate any feedback you guys can give!

Great website. Straight forward, easy interaction, nicely presented. You have a lot of projects there, I would categorize them somehow. Product, web, graphics etc… Great sketching skills, didn’t have time to reflect on the quality of ideas thou.

Bonus points for humor. I usually don’t even view portfolio threads, but this headline was too hilarious not to.

The typeface you’ve chosen has a very odd ampersand, and it’s all I see when I look at your page. It’s almost as if that character doesn’t render the same way as the other text. Maybe you want to substitute a character or use + instead of &. Just a thought.

Great clean layout. I do like the ampersand it has a good amount of character, but it is a tad bit large.

Awesome photographs. Sketches looks nice. The projects lack a bit of process, but I’m assuming that’s left for your physical portfolio.

The sites even coded cleanly, and I a sucker for clean code.

It is nice work, no doubt about that and you should be happy about where your portfolio is today.

I think though that there is just maybe a little bit too much of a good thing here and you portfolio would benefit from editing.
The great advantage of having a ton of work is that you can pick and choose the strongest ones. It feels as if certain form studies are just that, form studies and they don’t really go anywhere else. I am not sure that you need both the knife and the dibble.