ID Portfolio Feedback

Hey everyone,

I am a recent college graduate, just about to complete my first professional industrial design internship at Quirky Inc, and I am in the process of applying for a new internship. The portfolio I have is the 3rd iteration of the portfolio I developed during my time at Virginia Tech. I was hoping for any feedback that might make it stronger in the competitive job arena as I search for a more traditional design firm with an internship opportunity. Thank you for your time, and I look forward to your feedback!

James

Hey James,

Just a few things that I think would help.

1. Resume in the portfolio is always good idea. Your never quite sure how your portfolio is going to get passed around and having your resume in it is always a good way to make sure people can contact you. Also much easier to understand where you’ve been and what you’ve done this way. Your internship at Quirky is valuable but I would never know based on your portfolio.

2. Lot of Text. Your about me, just read the bold words, thats all I did and what most people will do. Try to make it more concise and to the point. You can always elaborate in person. You can always show your process book if people want more details.

3. Show dont tell. I really have toread your cover pages to see what the project is about. Motivation Objective Developers. Thats whats bold, but thats not whats important. I read those titles first. I should be reading your problem statement first.
    This goes across all areas of text in your portfolio.