ID looking for work

HELLO ALL!

At the end of the month my current employer will relocate their design department overseas. While I am very satisfied with my career so far this relocation will cause me to enter the the job market for the first time in 10 years.

I have 8 years of professional experience that began in store fixture design. There, I designed high-end retail furniture for clients such as Ralph Lauren, J. Crew, and Nautica. While the client list was impressive, I felt that my abilities could be expressed better if given the chance to work with materials other than wood. So that summer I returned to Auburn University to further my education in design for a career in consumer products.

In 2002, I graduated and received the School of Architecture’s graduate student of the year award which highlighted design skills that would later use as the basis for my teaching. For the next 3 years, I was part of Auburn’s ID program teaching various junior/senior level studios and lecture classes. This experience improved my organization and communication among designers while maintaining my design skills with freelance work.

Currently I work in Brookfield, CT for Uni-Splendor, the manufacturing division of Uni-President. This Taiwan-based corporation is an OEM supplier of kitchen and outdoor appliances for major brands such as Mr. Coffee, Kitchen-Aid, Weber, and Hamilton Beach.

As the lead designer for Uni-Splendor USA my position is defined by:

• Act as the correspondent between our design staff and Taiwan
  • Gathering and documenting all the design research for each project
  • Conceptualizing product solutions for our current customers
  • Create innovative solutions to recruit new business opportunities