ID in footwear / softgoods

Hi, new to this forum

I’ve just graduated in Industrial Design in the UK and after a mini-project and interview have been accepted to work for a major footwear / softgoods brand.

I’m just wondering what people’s thoughts were in the tranistion from more ‘product’ based design to footwear etc? I’ve little experience in this field, however it could be a great learning curve, especially for my portfolio.

any comments welcome

J

Footwear is product design. There is a bit of a misnomer out there that product design is encapsulating a circuit board in-between 2 injection molded parts.

The cool thing about footwear is you learn about injection molding, compression molding, high frequency welding, laser cutting, cut and sew hand operations, ergonomics, street style, cultural relevance, brand building, collection building, all in one spot. Welcome to the thunder dome my son. You are going to have fun.

Yo nails it…

In footwear and softgoods, its important to remember that fashion, style and merchandizing often trump technical and functional development. This does not mean there is no functional or technical development, it means that the functional and technical development is often incremental and secondary to trend specific requirements. Its a very market driven field of design, a lot of the solutions you provide will not neccesarily be viewed/sold as technically adept or developmentally revolutionary; but they can be good solid design in their own right.

i point this out becasue a lot of newcomers to this field tend to push the envelope technically seeking to remake footwear and bags; and often end up frustrated that change is slow and incremental at best. I mean you can make all the changes you want, but if your work is not “fashion forward” or “trend specific” or “cost conscious” enough it will sink like a stone.

thanks for the support.