ID Grad school worth it?

Although I graduated with a BA in Architecture, I’m in Information Tech at the moment and earning a decent living, with promise of making even more if I stay in the field.

I am in my mid 30s and have begun feeling I need to go back to my first love, the arts and design.

After checking out ID salary surveys and reading quite discouraging comments from forum members, I’m at a dilemma. My question is: Is it any different for a grad student? Will I also be starting off at the roughly 30,000 - 40,000 salary range after grad school?

Personal experiences would help a lot. Thanks.

Unlike Arch, the Masters does not count for anything in ID.

If you could get a job with just 2 years training it’d probably be at the low end of entry. Most ID grad programs will require you to do 3 anyway.
do yourself a favor and concider a 2nd Bachelors, you could possibly be done in 3, not waste time in seminars and writing papers, and have many more schools to choose from. With some choice co-ops you could start well above 40K.

What is your love worth?

Actually, I think a Masters in ID would help you enter the profession at a higher level, especially since your first degree is somewhat related. I graduated from Cranbrook’s 3D Design program a few years ago, having gotten an unrelated BA degree before, and this definitely opened some doors for me and enabled me to start my career on a higher rung of the ladder. It’s definitely worth considering, but keep th cost (and existing debt, if you have any) in mind.