ID Degree Necessary?

Now I know and understand the value of having a good education. It exposes you lots of new ways of thinking that you wouldn’t otherwise get. As wells as giving you time to improve skills and develop new ones.

I have a mechanical engineering BS and I’ve always liked design but I graduated as the economy was crashing and the company I was lucky enough to intern with hired me. But they are a defense contractor who doesn’t care one bit for the look of something. I left that job as an FEA engineer and went to work for a startup, but that is all engineering and no design.
I want to get into product design with the look and feel of a product.

Is it possible as an ME to do design work or do I have to get a new degree to make this change?

It’s tough, but not impossible, to end up actually sketching out styling for a product with only an ME background. However, a lot of ME’s considering the switch have found working within an ID consultancy, or a company that values ID, as a design engineer to be creatively fulfilling. You still get a say in the styling, though it isn’t your primary role, and you don’t lose out on the technical side.

As a mental exercise, reverse ME and ID in your post. Would an engineering firm hire an industrial designer who was interested in being an ME with no education in it?

Well, technically, I had the word engineer somewhere in my official title sometime in the past. And while I am only 2 semesters from having and engineering degree, there is no chance in hell I will ever, ever, have an engineering degree.

But to answer the OP and yo, no, it is not necessary. You can do ID and engineering without a degree. If you have the right experience, I’d hire you, no matter what a piece of paper says. Not likely, but not impossible either.

Yo, I understand that a degree gives a lot of credibility. I didn’t mean to be insulting to the education that people work hard to get. Obviously a degree from a good school means a lot.