Ian Murchison - Portfolio

The holiday break has given me some time to put together my portfolio. Let me know what you think.

Thanks.

EDIT: The above link is an updated version. The previous version can be found here http://ianmurchison.com/v1/

Ian,

Not sure my comments will be useful as I am only a recent graduate myself, but I like the pdf portfolio. And it’s good you show some design process, which all the veteran members of the core77 forums always suggest.

I think the website could use some more of your work, but I guess it’s meant really only as a teaser.

Thanks for the feedback.

You’re right in the website really being a teaser. While everyone is different in what they’re looking for, I’m hoping the final stage of a project will grab their attention and leave them wanting to know more about the background work. Also I wanted to be able to show a wide range of work as quickly as possible so that they don’t lose interest. They only have 1 page per project to flip through, so if they’re not really interested in one of the projects they don’t need to scroll through several pages of it.

Hey Ian,

Overall, some good stuff. I’d suggest some more process would be a good thing to add. Your sketches are of very good quality and personally, i’d rather see more of those than final renderings for more projects. All that being said, with the process and sketches you can do, I’d even say one in-depth project with sketches, research, models, CAd, etc. might be more impressive than many projects skimmed over…

At the very least, I’d put the sketch pages you have towards the end more to the front.

As well, a lot of your projects could help to be better represented with more context shown. the bike stand doesn’t read as much if you just see at first. needed is a pic with a bike at the very least. same goes with the hummingbird feeder. if i just look at the pic, i have no idea what it is… a quick fix to PS a bird in there would do wonders.