I really need an advice...

Hi, I’m an Italian footwear and accessories designer.
In few motnhs I think that I’ll have to move to the united states to apply to a new job in Boston.
This week I’ll have to dicuss about my salary and all the other things related to the job ( relocation, apartment, health insurance etc…).
I’m really in the middle of a storm because I don’t know how expensive is the life in US , in particular in the city I will go for work. As consequence I don’t know what salary and benefit I should ask.
I have a 4 years experience. I have worked for 2 years in a footwear design studio and the other 2 in a sport company,both located in Montebelluna which is an important shoe center in the north of Italy.
I also follow the development steps in Far East factories , as most of the footwear designers do.
I really appreciate if someone could help me to clarify what kind of request I can do to the company. Or if it will be better to wait their proposal in any case.
thanks a lot :confused:

don’t get much more expensive to live than Beantown, 4 years experience - without knowing more I’d guess ask for at least 60K

Ok…thank you for the salary suggestion…what about medical care and holidays ?
There is something I should know about these issues?
I suppose that thing are really different from Italy…( here when you apply for a job the medicalcare is fully covered by the company and if you can’ t work because you are ill or go to the hospital , they pay a 70 % of the montly salary as well).
What about holidays ? I think I 'll need them to go back to Italy sometime. Do I have to inform how many holidays they can give me or there is a general amount of days common to almost all the contracts ?
Maybe I’m asking ridicoluos things but I have no experience of work in the US system…thanks

the general standard is 2 weeks a year, but a lot of comapnies have thier own policies, such as, starting with a week and adding a day or two every year for example.