I have a question to product designers

Hi guys,

I have a question. Actually I’m a student, who has one semester left more up to the graduation, but my major is not realated to Product design at all. Of course I’d like to go to University to study Product deisgn from the beginning, but that’s not affordable for me and also I have no time to start University the way back , I think.

So things that I do from half a year ago to now is to practice sketch and take down what I come up with for products and read some book about design process. However I’m alway wondering whether what I’m doing is right way or not.

As a person, who is eagar to be a product designer, I’d like to ask you what I need to do study without the regular product design education?
(ps. If you have nice resources about product design such as some web sites etc, please let me know some :smiley:)

Thanks a lot

CW

First let me say that I haven’t successfully landed a single design job, being a recent graduate myself, so I may not be the best source of advice.

But, to my understanding, there are 2 main factors when it comes to getting a job.

1. Your portfolio
  2. Who you know

1- You can read and sketch all you want, but to land a job you will NEED a portfolio detailing several projects and process work. They want to see how you think. Students naturally accrue portfolio pieces during their coursework, but you would need to generate content on your own time. It is harder than working under given design parameters as students often do, but not impossible. You just need to be very self-motivated.

2- If your dad’s friend owns a design firm, or is head engineer at [company], hit them up. They will be more willing to hire you knowing you have passion, even if you don’t have much training.

Lastly, you could get a non-design position within a design firm with the hopes of picking up their design process and gradually becoming more and more involved with the design team.

I hope that helps.