I hate drawing "ID Style"...

but I do enjoy sketching and don’t think i have a problem expressing my ideas on paper and in words. but, being a sophomore in pratt id program i’m finding it a bit frustrating. i have a very strong background in problem solving and coming up with new ways to handle issues and make things interesting. but, i don’t design on paper by randomely shapes and parts and throwing them together. i’m not good at creating for creations sake, better to have a problem to solve. otherwise it just feels like decoration to me. i work things out in my head, do a quick sketch then go hands on. i’m pretty good with cad and 3d programs, so i’m hoping this can compensate for my lack of enthusiasm for drawing products at various angles on paper.

anyone have any thoughts on how this will effect the rest of my education and possible career?

I went to Pratt, and was the same way - unfortunately you can get away with that at Pratt, sort of ducking sketch requirements for classes, I always had solid models, great ideas, even blueprints for my stuff, but just doodles for sketches…

I graduated and then had one HELL of a time finding a job, I had to go back and redo my entire portfolio with tons of new sketches, the summer after graduation I isolated myself in my parents basement and did the sketching I never did in school - I won awards at Pratt, had awesome ideas, but in the end it is the sketches that get you the job. it took me 6 months to get a gig out of school, and it was not the one I wanted - I had to do crap giveaways at mcdonalds for a year, then went on to find the perfect job.