I Get No Respect: I Need Advice

:frowning: Hey everyone,
I work for a self-centerd boss that gives all credit to himself and his sales girls that presents our designs to clients. I work with another lead designer aka design director, and we pump out renderings all day. I’ve been working there for almost two years, and the lead design and the boss have been working together for years. The boss is also a (middle aged) designer. The boss flies the sales girls all around the country to product shows and even China, but when it come to the designers, we go to local places for shows & tells us to look at magazines inhouse.

I am the little guy of the bunch but I produce the better designs and they know it. when I started I had all the time in the world to design, and my stuff sold. But now I get handed the lesser undesirable more complex and detailed work by the lead designer, while he takes the easier work. If there is 7 concepts to design, I usually do 4. If there is 5. I usually do 3. If there is a project that is most likely to sell, the lead designer takes it; sometimes don’t even tell me about it.

Then I have to deal with the boss who sketches hes designs sometimes and pass it to me to model and render. Sometimes the lead designer does them as well, but he could easily say he has another job or is busy, so I’m left with the undesirable work which is rendering someone elses idea; the bosses. I’m not one of the popular players in the group because I’m a little quiet, but I feel that I help them get to where they are at and that I deserve respect, notoriety, & recognition.

[size=18]So I have to deal with the lead designers unfair work distribution and then the bosses constant flow of sketches, bad mood swings, and not enough time to do my stuff.[/size]

In a few years I will be 30 and I need to make a move if I am going to. the job market kinda sucks in the tri-state area eventhough I didn’t apply to anywhere.

What do you guys think?