Humber College Vs. Carleton University

Hey,

I’m a grade 12 student in Toronto and interested in pursuing ID.

Humber vs. Carleton, what do you think?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both?

Is their an affect on future possibilities based on the fact the Humber is a college compared to Carleton which is a university?

Appreciate any piece of information and advice.

Thanks,
Ron

hope i can offer some (abeit biased help).

I went to Carleton University School of Industrial Design (grad with coop program 2001).

In my opinion, Carleton has by far the best ID program in Canada, and is well recognized internationally (although perhaps not as much as some of the top US programs, given the relatively small number of grads coming out of the school).

The program is a well balanced program, somewhat more practical/engineering focused than many other ID school that take a more “art” approach to ID. Required courses (at least when I was there) included mass production technology, engineering statics, physics, calculus, marketing, psychology, etc. in addition to the usual ID studio and theory courses.

As a result, most of the grads from Carleton seem to be well prepared to get involved with real ID work, coming from a good experience of practical design experience and understanding of user, consumer, market and manufacturing issues.

The only down-side i can offer of the program, (although I believe this is changing in recent years), is that being so practically focused, there isnt as much focus on skills (ie. sketching/rending) and concept development as in some other schools.