How's it made? (Silicon brush)

I’m not a pro industrial designer, but I love to know how things are made. Here’s one that seems to be quite a mystery. It’s a silicon brush for cooking. (it’s great for painting melted butter and unlike the standard kitchen brushes this one is possible to clean.)

What’s interesting is that there is only a visible seam on the “back” of the brush where the metal handle enters the rubber. There are no other seams. This doesn’t look like a standard 2 piece injection mold.

Also, look at the long thin bristles. There’s 4 closely packed layers of them, so again this clearly is not injection molding. [EDIT: No, this is wrong. For some reason I was only thinking about the mold cavity being symmetrical. as pointed out below, a cavity just for the bristles would work fine.]

So how is this brush made? Anyone care to guess… or explain :wink: ?

Edit

No seams, that sounds interesting. Do you mean he had no parting lines at all. If so how did he remove the part, or was that the idea behind the thesis?

ah yes, a silicon mold can be used for silicon casting. (an old sfx technique isn’t it?)

(OT: silicon does seem to be “in vogue” in the last year or so. from oven mits, to muffin forms… why the sudden boom?)

I can see how a metal model could be used to create a reverse silicon mold. But I’m not so sure about how you would get the part out of the mold.

• Isn’t the opening where the handle goes into the brush head a bit small to stretch over the entire brush?

• Wouldn’t the tiny bristles snap when being pulled from the mold?

Also, there is something that looks like a small “seam” where the bristles attach to the brush head. so perhaps this is a 2-part silicon cast mold. one part holds the bristles, and the 2nd the head. silicon is poured in the top, then when cool, the top of the mould comes off, then grab the brush head and pull the bristles out of the mold.

maybe?