How to work with difficult designer?

I have a dilemma and was hoping for advice from others. I’m from the US, but I studied abroad and landed a job after graduation. I’m really happy with the job, with one small downside.

I work with another (much more experienced) designer, and he’s not the easiest person to work with… He said himself that he’s been working alone for so long that he’s not used to working with other designers.

• First off, he doesn’t sketch (mainly he works in CAD). That in itself isn’t the problem, but rather that he’s not very forthcoming/open/talkative with his ideas. I heard from others in my office (including our boss, who pulled me into his office) that he is not the easiest person to work with, and that he is protective of his “area” (the design department).

• I’ve tried to take initiative and ask, “how would you like to work together on X project?”, but he answers with “I don’t know” and goes back to working on his computer on other projects. I started with some sketches in the and waited/hoped for him to bring up a time to discuss the project… but after waiting awhile, I went ahead and showed him my ideation sketches as a springboard for discussion, and his reaction was very defensive, almost as though “You started working on it??”

• On another project I was supposed to “assist” him as the lead designer. I tried to be proactive and show some ideation sketches and a rough prototype/mock up, which he did use, but I felt slighted that he didn’t ask me for further help. And I don’t exactly feel comfortable giving unsolicited opinions on his work. In hindsight I should have been more assertive and outright asked if there was anything he needed help with on the design, or offered suggestions of brainstorming or discussing the concepts.