how to prepare for a phone interview?

Hi

This is my first time having a phone interview for an internship position…

I’d like to know what type of questions I should expect…

also, they said the internship would be for 2 months…but would it be ok if i ask about the possibility to extend it? or is that a big no no

lastly, could you tell me if there are any other things i need to keep in mind?

Thanks!!

My first couple interviews for my job were over the phone because I was in a different state. First with a HR recruiter, then my boss.

First off I made sure I was in a quiet place where I would not have any distractions.
I prepared a list of questions I had. I think it’s fine to ask about after the internship. “Are there any possibilities to continue with this company upon completion?” I think companies really want their interns to work out because its like a long trial period w/ training. Just asking lets them know you are thinking long term which is good I think.
If you sent them a portfolio or website, make sure its in front of you too for reference. You don’t want them to ask something about your work and not know what they are talking about.
Try to relax. This can be easier said than done, but just take a deep breath. If you think of it like you’re interviewing them as much as they are to you, it makes it easier.
Pen + Paper. This is an easy one, and easy to forget. Make sure you can write down notes.

Good luck

It goes without saying, but talk calmly, make sure you don’t speak too quickly, and annunciate. Be honest and respectful, answer questions as directly as possible. There are few wrong answers, the conversation is an effort to get to know you, so be sure to let them know a bit about what excites you, what you are passionate about.

Know the company well too… make sure you research them, so you know the type of projects they work on and their current stuff.

I am hearing a lot of, “relax, be yourself, etc.” I remember struggling with this.