How to get into footwear industry without a footwear portfol

Hi, all… I am a designer has almost two years of design experience from car, furniture to toy etc. I am at the point where I want to concentrate in one design industry and really be good at it. I already have interviews lined up for jobs that I am familiar with (car design supplies, consumer product etc.)
But lately one of my friends has join a large sport shoes company here in MA as a graphic designer and get me interested in know more about it.
I know you guys are in the industry for a while, and will be able to give me very good insight on the shoe industry.
Can you please tell me what is it like to be a shoe designer? How is it different than other consumer product?
I have nothing in my portfolio for shoe design ( only some sport appreal stuff) , how would somebody like me approach to a shoe company? Should I draw some shoes and show them? Would they appreciate rough sketch rather than renderings?

Any input will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Crepes- Post your folio for some more detailed feedback.

Being footwear designer (lesson one, most are picky about calling it footwear, don’t know when that started…) varies greatly from company to company. Some corporations are more design centric with design VP
s reporting directly to the board, some have design reporting in through development or even marketing. Ask the big questions at your interviews to find out how the structure works.

Overall it is a great job.

The pros:

Quick turn around time. Products come out constantly and fast

Responsibility. Most of the time it is just you working on an entire project.

Knowledge. You learn about injection molding of all different types, and hand sewing operations. You learn about ergonomics and fashion trends, it all keeps you on your toes.

Security. People always need shoes… er, ah, footwear I mean.