how to get in

hey. i have loved art my whole life, but when i come onto this site, i feel like i know nothing about it. is there a site where i can learn the basics of media arts? i’m only a freshmen in high school, but i know that my career is definetely going to be in art. im new to all of this, but i would like to atleast understand the things that go along with it all.

Its great that you are thinking about this as a freshmen; it will give you some time to determine what you really want to do and what you can do to prepare.

First though you need to understand that art and design tend to be very different things. To give you an idea of what Industrial Design is about here is a link to the definition as defined by the Industrial Designers society of America or IDSA. This will give you a sense of what we do. If you have any any specific ?'s feel free to ask; there are many designers here from different fields and backgrounds that can help.

http://www.idsa.org/absolutenm/templates/?a=89

for more general art discussions, you might want to check out artbistro.com

Do you live by any big universities? They often have summer programs in the art department and you can learn more about what direction you want to go. Or look on their websites for senior shows, and talk to the students.

In “Art” you can make something pink polka dots just cause you feel like it. In 'Design" you have to take constraints and research and practical issues into consideration and create something based on specific purpose and intent. For example, a stop sign is red and hexagonal for a specific reason. It was designed to be that way to fit a purpose.

Figure out if you want to be an artist or a designer. Design is a form of art but not just art for art’s sake. It’s art that requires negotiating specific issues. Cost, ergonomics, manufacturability, sustainability, can it be mass produced, the proesses involved, who the audience or user is, etc…

Hello,