How to get an internship?

This is my first post so ill introduce myself! Im Allan, 20, from Glasgow, Scotland. Im currently in my 3rd year studying product design and innovation at Strathclyde and I am looking for an internship for this summer!

Here’s my problem:

My eyes have recently been opened to what ID really is (mostly by this site!) and I feel my course does not have enough actual design in it. The first two years have really been “foundation” courses as I see it, with management, economics, manufacturing and entrepreneurship all featuring over actual design! Last year in fact I did no drawing at all within uni!

Anyway I recently sent out my resume to some ID companies, most of which were met with a “send us a folio” type reply.
The problem I have I what little design work I have done in the past 2 years I would not want to put my name on! Im over half way through third year now and we are actually doing some concepts and design work, but this is mainly to get us to a point to teach us other things (parametric cad modelling) and so we are rushed through.

Essentially I don’t have a folio to send! I have started working on my sketching skills and have been doing some reasonable work I feel in concept stages.

Another problem with my course I feel is that they taught us how to use ProE which is all well and good except vie never used a rendering package like Rhino to make things look good.

What would you advise I do for my folio? Im currently doing some concepts that I would actually put in there, and will b doing some model making to prove concepts. Should I try to get to grips with a rendering package?

Are companies really looking for a polished finish even from a student? I have alot to learn!

On a good note one of my good friends is a graphics designer and she said she’d give me a hand on presenting my work well.

I need some advice! Thanks for reading my rant

no tips anyone?

You’re in a tough spot.

I’m not telling you (or anyone) what to do.