How much longer do I have to wait....

I graduated about a year ago and moved here Bay area.

Since I don’t know anybody here, I have e-mailed all the companies in CA since this March.
I havn’t been able to find any job or even any internship.
I heard Economy being still rough but it’s really tough to get through.

I am getting very discouraged and don’t know where to start.
I am talented, focused, hard worker and I know that the company will be happy to have me once I put my foot in the door… but how can I let them know that? How much longer do I have to wait?

Following is my sample link and any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Please help me…

everybody is talented, focused, and works hard.

-Think about what makes you different in how you approach a problem- that may be a place to start.

You need to show process. Maybe you have booklets or more information you’re not showing on your coroflot - that better describes your product.

I’d also work more on why your products look the way they do. Everything needs a reason - right now most of your sketches look arbitrary.

The Bay area is a highly competitive job market. It’s also a costly place to live. Considering you’ve already made the move - I’d try reworking your portfolio and staying persistent - something is bound to turn up eventually.

Good luck.

Its rough out there, thats for sure. I’ve had a lot of friends go out recently looking for work only to find nothing and I’m in middle America.

July 29th is my last day as an Industrial Designer with my current employer. I’ve been working for several years now and just can’t do it anymore. My heart isn’t in it. I’m leaving to pursue other things, business, maybe even the military.

Take a long look at what it is that you really want to do. If design is your passion and something that you can see yourself doing no matter what, then I say stick with it. It can be rough and hard to break through but you’ll make it if its really what you want.