How much experience is experienced?

Hi,
I graduated from college in 2002 from the Advertising & Computer Graphics Program. Went through 4 semesters of brain washing what ‘design’ really is. Did the intern thing and now what? I’ve been in and out of jobs, it’s almost depressing!

From working at home to working at a design studio (which was only a 2 month contract), I’ve done it all.

I’m currently working at a small newspaper place which allows my design extend to font 11 or font 12… hmm… the joy!

So, the question is… how much experience is being experienced?
Overall since my graduation, I’ve been working for 3 and a half years in design.

I applied for junior position that replied to me by saying… “You’re too experienced for this position”
So I tried the intermediate position that reply with “You’re not experienced enough for this position”

So what will it be?

I am not trying to be rude.

First of all sounds like you’re complaining.

Second, sounds like you’re confused and you don’t believe in what you do.

Put your lamentations aside.

Ask yourself what your dream job would be, either a companies or work you want to do.

Put a portfolio together of the best stuff you have. Post it here or any other website dealing with what you do. Ask for a critique. Some critiques will be constructive, others will just want to add their 2 cents. Fix what needs to be fixed and show your work again. It will never be perfect and you will need to stop somewhere. Good rule of thumb - just fix the major things and spare the details, unless you have time for them.

Make a list of all places where you want to work and exactly what you want to do there.