How many projects to show in an interview

I am a junior designer with 3 yrs experience. How many projects should I show in an interview? They say only show the best pieces, but if I only show 5-6, is it not enough?

Thanks!

Usually those students just graduating have around 10-12 projects. Maybe you need to do some concept work in addition to what you have done in the last 3 years.

I would only show about 3-4 strong projects. LESS EQUALS MORE!

From those emphasize PROCESS: research (and what it provided you and shaped your conceptualizing) initial sketches, boiled down to a few better renderings or initial models (and note why these directions were chosen over the others) boiled down again to a final and sweet CAD and/or physical model at the end.

Input of user testing and manufacturing concerns is very important, too.

This advice is really for product though. I have no idea how many for graphic.

for product design, I’d say no more than 5 very good projects. For graphic design…I’d say no more than 6-7.
10 - 12 gets long and boring and I’m assuming some of these projects take up more than one page?..Do the math…page count is starting to get a little high…

It will take a while to present 10+ projects during an interview. You don’t want to rush the presentation just to cover many projects. 5-7 projects should be enough to give the prospective employer a good understanding of your skills.

Speaking of ID.

Should mention when I said “10-12 projects” I was talking about graphic design.

I though its always best to do the research in to the specific company and show 2-3 projects that are most relevant not more, i think that the best way to do it personally at least in UK.

… as many as you got… good ones that is…