How long to stay at my job

Hi all- this is my first post on the new core. I used to parooze here when is was anonymous and flamy, but glad to see its cleaned up and most topics are helpful and friendly :smiley:

Anyway, I graduated in 02 and have worked in four ID related jobs plus freelance. I am currently a product designer for a great north eastern US firm and I really love my job, except the pay is extrememly low and there doesnt seem to be much room to grow or advance. I have been there just over 8 months and I want to start looking for something new. My question is does it look bad to new employers that I have changed jobs so frequently? Should I stick it out for a year or more here?

Its not unusual for people to move around a lot, especially when they are 1st starting out in their career. I do think you need to have at least 1 year or even 2 year stint on your resume.

Have you done research on what you should be earning. Put a proposal together then ask your boss for a raise. If you like your job then try and make it work. You could get a job for double the money but hate it… trust me, that’s not what you want to do!

Yes, the previous writer is correct.

When moving from job to job, one needs to think about the overall environment of their job. Peace of mind is the best rule of thumb to live by. I have found that the highest paying jobs usually come with high stress, lots of politics and can sometimes be short lived. If you are comfortable try to work with your boss. Make a genuine effort to express your concerns in a positive manner. If they are fair and your work represents your expectations then I’m sure you can come to some type of arrangement.

Best of luck.

I have asked for a raise and its been dragged out for over a month now without any resolve. Its getting to the point of exploitation and the negatives are beginnig to outweigh the positives. Again, I really like the design work but the compensations is way below par.