How long does it usually take to find a job?

This is my first post ever :smiley: Hi everybody!

I graduated from college in May with a BFA in graphic design. I did the job search thing for a little while before that and got offered 2 internships (20/hrs a week each). I took them both. They are both ending in a month, and I’m planning on going to my parents house for a month or two after that to find a real job.

Any idea how long it usually takes to find a job? Any ideas how I should go about finding one?? Whats the best approach? I’ve had a few internships during college, the two that I’m working right now, and I think a decent folio…

Thanks!

any ideas anybody?

I’ve always been told the average is six months.

well, its 4 for me so far…

It took me just under 9 months to finally get another job offer after being laid off in 2003.

It depends on alot of factors really, such as, do you have a door portfolio? Do you have releveant experience (the internships help)? How dedicated are you to finding a job? How many jobs are you applying to? Is your search limited to local jobs, or are you willing to relocate? Are you able to conduct yourself in an interivew? How narrow is your search?

The broader and more intense you are with your search, the higher the likelyhood that you’ll find something faster. In all honesty, to find that first job you should be no-holds-barred in accepting it and being very open minded, once you get the right experience it will more than likely get easier.

Salesmanship has never been my strong suit. Would companies still hire me even though I have no ability bs my way through if I show good work?

Design is such a competitive profession and it’s so much harder to get a design job than so many others. So salesmanship is really important.