How is the industrial design field doing right now?

I’ve been a professional industrial designer for about 8 years now and seen my fair share of ups and downs. When I graduated into the market in 2006, the economy wasn’t doing so well and finding a job was challenging. Then in 2008, the economy took another dive. It seems like things have gotten better now, but it also seems that with new technology trends, the demand seems to be going away industrial design and more into UX interfaces.

Has the field of industrial design seen its fair share of ups and downs? Will there always be a need for industrial design services? I sure hope so, but I’ve also seen clever designers come up with ideas that create demand. We’re a resourceful bunch.

There will always be a need, but we work in an industry that can be turned into a perceived commodity very quickly to some of your potential clients.

This is why most of the big consultancies have moved away from pure ID and more towards strategy, UX, and other value added services beyond just physical design. Adapt or die as they say.

I recently switched to full time UX simply because there is a lot more UX work and opportunity, especially here in the northeast.

It is always important to layer in a strategic lens. Things become commoditized when their value is reduced. In the 90’s I thin ID firms started selling “sketches” instead of seeing solutions. Teague, Dreyfus, Loewy, they always sold solutions and they never limited themselves to ID, they wanted to be collaborating at the leadership level on strategy and positioning. Design is returning to that and I thin UX and IxD helped push that. In the future I see more hybrid designers who can do think strategically and produce tactically across disciplines, ID, brand, UI/UX. I think UX/IxD as a specialty is already seeing a shelf life. A lot of firms are expecting UX designers to also do visual design or another discipline. Mike being a great industrial designer is a good example.