How does a Graphic Designer get into Industrial Design?

I’m currently a fourth year student at the Memphis College of Arts in Memphis, TN. My major is Design Arts with a concentration in Graphic Design. I’ve recently become very interested in industrial and product design as well as non-web interactive design. However the curriculum at my school is (supposedly) based off of the old Bauhaus methods and the head of the graphic design department who is also the only teacher of the required design courses at the school is very closed minded about what design is and especially what good design is. The focus of the program is centered mainly on print and the majority of that is handmade book formats. I feel like my creativity and affinity towards technology and new design is being stifled in this program, so I am looking outside of school for ways to get into the industrial design community.

I have no desire to change my major at this point, but if anyone has any suggestions for ways I could begin to shift my discipline and career path towards the industrial and interactive side of design it would be much appreciated. I don’t know where to start. I feel as though I need to develop my skills as well as develop connections in the field.

I understand that industrial design often requires expensive industry standard equipment and processes to complete final realizations of designs. How do students of industrial design normally create portfolio pieces? (I see a lot of 3-D modeling out there. But do students normally have final physical pieces in their portfolios? Should I invest in taking a 3-D modeling class?)

I’m just searching for resources that can point me in the industrial design direction. Any information would helpful.

Before you can even hope to do any designing or modelling in 3D, you should ask yourself: “Can I think in 3D?” Can you vizualize an object in your head and then rotate it around and understand it’s form?