How Do You Get Into Furniture Design?

I have been looking for information on how to break into the furniture design market and have come up empty-handed. Is there someone here who is in the industry and who can give me some pointers? I’m a self-trained designer and I also design modern houses. I’m not a craftsman, though, so I have no prototypes of my chairs and tables, as yet. Just 3D models/CAD. Ideally, I am looking for a connection with a manufacturer, not a job.

Gary

Furniture design really isn’t the best place to be at the moment. That was my area of work until I got laid off last November. The industry as a whole has been suffering since 9/11 and the whole shift to importing from China isn’t helping either. Most manufacturers are laying off people right now, not hiring.

Furniture design in the US is basically broken down into home furinshings and contract fruniture. Home furnishings in the US is governed by what happens at the big trade show in High Point, NC in the spring and fall. Contract furnishings looks to the Neocon trade show in Chicago every summer for the latest trends.

My experience has been that the home furnishings market is more style driven rather than by design. If you have any kind of background in ID and enjoy problem solving rather than “style research”, you’re better off looking for opportunities in the contract furniture market and paying a visit to the Chicago Merchandise Market next month for Neocon 2004.