how did you find your job? (or vice versa)

I am a product design student at a small program in the southeast and I will be entering my senior year in the fall. I have a little more than one year to decide what I want to do (what field of design i.e. soft goods, computers, cars, etc.) when I graduate. Today I was posed an interesting question from the gentleman thats over my internship. He asked, “What do they teach you in college about finding a job or deciding what you want to do?” I had little response. Mostly because I don’t know yet what I want to do, and no one had ever really asked.

I was just wondering how some designers got into their careers and if it had anything to do with passion or if you just needed a job. Preferably first job but anything will work.

I got my jobs through networking.
Always putting your best foot forward is super important. You never now who you might be talking to.
An interview can happen in the most unexpected places such as parties, the subway, gallery openings, fairs.

Also, especially in school, somebody really really important might sit in on one of your critiques and you might not even know it.
If you did well, you might have an email in your inbox 2 weeks later with an offer.
Happened to me.

Fitch actually found me. They came across my coroflot portfolio and sent me an e-mail. A phone call later, an interview in Columbus, another interview in Pittsfield and then I accepted their offer.

I could say that I was a little lucky, but they came across my portfolio a year after I graduated. Within that year, I did put a lot of effort into revising old projects. So I guess it was a little combination of hard work and luck. I am very thankful that my efforts did pay off and that I had a fulfilling work experience.

Same thing happened to me. My boss was look’n through Coroflot and emailed me. I interviewed and was hired next day. This obviously isnt the norm, but htat s what happened to me.