how can I emerge from Furnitureland USA (NC)??

I have about 3 years experience working as an in house designer for a high profile, contemporary furniture company in North Carolina. While I love the company, I’d really like to move away from the little city in NC where I live, and go to a metropolitan city.

Another one of my concerns is that a lot of my work tends to consist of critiquing and re-engineering (essentially ghost designing) products other designers have sent to us to make.

Another issue is the lack products that I,personally, have had the opportunity to design here. The few I have gotten to design, have ended up in ad campaigns (which has been amazing!), but the amount of in-house design has been far smaller than what I was quoted coming in.

Has anyone else been in these situations? Do you know of away I can improve my chances of finding another job?

Also, what city/region would be best to relocate to for furniture/furnishings, etc. (besides highpoint). It seems like SF & LA have a lot going on. NY seems a little more out of reach. What about Chicago?

Cheers. Thanks a lot.

If you want to go into contract furnishings, Michigan is probably the place to be.

Well to specify, I’m more interested in NYC, LA, CHI, SF, LON. While writing this, I also understand that’s what many people want as well.

I have given contract some thought, but I think I would preferr approaching contract from a freelance stance.

Well to specify, I’m more interested in NYC, LA, CHI, SF, LON. While writing this, I also understand that’s what many people want as well.

I have given contract some thought, but I think I would preferr approaching contract from a freelance stance.

None of those places are really big on furniture, especially anything outside of contract.

What about Ontario?