How are Pratt grads faring in the job market?

Grads, employers, know-it-alls, what do you think of recent Pratt grads?

I am overstepping my bounds by saying this, but the Pratt porfolios on Coroflot seem a little… dull. I am by no means an expert, but the porfolios seem less impressive and definitely look like they represent less employable designers. A lot of it seems to be the presentation, not so much the concept though a lot of concepts seem to represent incredibly unlikely stuff and not really in a good “blue sky” sort of way.

This could all be a fluke. The best designers from Pratt may not have portfolios on Coroflot right now. It definitely appears that some other schools are really pushing student to pump out decent porfolios – better presentation, projects geared to industry. It may also be that I am taken in my slick, facile presentation (but I bet quite a few employers are too, since they know there clients will be impressed by slick presentation)

waddaya think?

– Ian

Here’s the deal, people hire junior designers for there skills, not there philosophy. What they want are people who can help them do there work with the least amount of revision, design bukake, time and energy possible. That said, here’s what makes new grads juicy:

1. A bit of industry experience
  2. Strong presentation skills
  3. A basic understanding of how things go together
  4. An understanding of the client’s business needs (not the same as the customer’s needs)
  5. An ability to follow instructions and get work done on time.

Pratt spent a good deal of the 1990’s producing great thinkers with shit skills who had little understanding of business. As a result, the students were unemployable and the school’s reputation has deteriorated.

Here’s the good news, there are more than a couple killer professors there:

Tip Sempliner for learning how to actually make stuff. (ask him for help with a model some time).