Hobbies outside of the design realm?

I studied in Taiwan for two months where they require their students to take craft classes like ceramics, metal, chinese painting, and glass. I understood the idea of learning about the basic materials and their processes. However, I found that I was less stressed, more creative, and harder working when it came to my design projects.

My school in America did not require these types of classes. As I jump into the real world, I have found my self wanting to step back from drawing and pick up a hobby for about an hour a day. In the mean time I have better finger dexterity and control which has helped my sketching ability.

My hobby has been knitting. What is yours?

Photography, painting, fine art drawing (non-id related), cooking, cycling.

I’ve always thought it’s important to have a hobby that allows me to disconnect from art / design / creative. For years I bowled in a men’s league (a bunch of local blue-collar guys) and it was a good time.

This last year, though, I quit the league and picked up electric RC car racing. It allows me to use many of my ID skills in a totally different way (but doesn’t feel like design). I also get to socialize with non-art people. Plus it’s tons of fun and a great challenge of skill / engineering.

I should add curling, too.

I used to take a lot of foreign language classes… thought the studying really stinks, it’s great for being a better communicator and fun just to chat with other interesting people, just for the sake of chatting (in the language). Plus its pretty awesome when your traveling. Takes up too much time though, so I let it slide…

I signed up for a class in Burnsville, MN. I really want to get into a beginner’s league too!

Making music is a fun hobby for me.

motorsports. it’s a great release.