highschool design camp

hello everyone. I am a sophomore in highschool and product design has been my passion for a couple years now, and I am positive that is what I want to do as a career. I am more interested in the engineering aspect of design, which is why I’d like to do product design instead of industrial design. For colleges (yes, I know, a little early to be thinking about college, but oh well) I want to go to Stanford as my first choice, and RPI as my second, as those are the only two good engineering-based design programs that I could find. I know getting into Stanford is next to impossible, but I’m working my butt off to get in. I’m currently teaching myself programs such as photoshop, illustruator, and I’m about to get started on CAD.

Now here is my question: do any of you know of any good product design or industrial design camps for highschoolers? I know of one at NC State University, but I’m not having much luck finding others. I want to go to a design camp next summer because my highschool only has mostly basic core classes, and I can only go so far teaching myself design. I am eager for knowledge, and quite frankly, I don’t want to wait for college to get some knowledge!

So, if you could help me, that’d be great!

Thanks!

Pratt has a Summer program for high school level people. It has an Industrial Design + Architecture program that was really good all those years ago…

thanks. i’ll look into that. any other suggestions would be appreciated!

RISD also has a program but I believe it is more fine arts based… still, I think a great adventure huge portfolio building opportunity and learning experience any way you go…

First things first, Product Design = Industrial Design