High School Portfolio

Hi
I’m currently a junior and I am pretty sure that I want to apply to a design school and study ID. I have one very important doubt. If I want to get accepted, what kind of work should I have in my portfolio? Also, when it comes to applying, my preference is Pratt institute, what do you guys think about its ID program. I’ve heard its quite good.

Hey,
I’m a college freshman (majoring in ID). When I was in highschool I did a design program at Carnegie Mellon and they offered us a lot of good advice about building our portfolios, so just thought i’d pass it along. Last year I applied to nine schools, so I understand what it’s like to have to make a portfolio!

1.) Check out the requirements for all the schools you are applying to. Some schools have specific projects that you have to do

2.) Show that you are versatile.
Let’s say --i’m making this up on the spot, bear with me-- you are really good at drawing life-like cars and you love drawing them. You might assume that because they are your best pieces that you should fill up your portfolio with a bunch of these pieces because they are really good. wrong.
Remember that you are going to college to learn and to grow. You want to show the admissions staff that you are willing to learn and grow, through your portfolio. If you show them only one style that you’ve “mastered,” it kind of says to the school that you already have it figured out (why would they need to admit you to their school?).

Try different things, experiment with various media, try a variety of styles (painting, pastel, graphite, pen and ink, etc.)
Of course include your strong pieces of the cars (going back to the example), but don’t be afraid to try something new because of the fear that “it won’t be good enough to include in your portfolio”

I actually didn’t apply to pratt so I wouldn’t be able to help you out with that.

hope this helps!