Heretic Piano // BFA Final Project

Hey all,

After several months of researching musical instruments, I am beginning the design phase of my Senior Project. I started out for about 6 weeks researching violins, and then researched pianos for a while. I decided to go forward with a piano because acoustic violins have rigorous form constraints and have been explored more than pianos have. There are a handful of crazy piano designs (a whole other thread I’ll have to start when I have more free time), but they are mostly sculptural. I wanted to approach things from a practical as well as aesthetic perspective.

I decided to post a rough research presentation here in the hope that I can get some broader feedback with the actual design. I am not a mechanism expert, and my design will probably involve some industrial modular functionality for easy piano moving.

Thanks in advance. Hopefully this turns into a fun thread.

One of my aesthetic stories.

The functional / second aesthetic story.

I have a question or two.

With your proposed arrangement of the soundboard, is there a means to show it will produce a superior sound (or conversely an inferior sound) other than making an actual soundboard in the proposed arrangement?

If the only way to test your idea is to make an actual soundboard in the proposed arrangement, do you have an idea to cost? (You will also need to let me know the going shop rate for a piano fabricator, as I have no idea.)

On a side note, very interesting research. It must have been fun to find this stuff.

Thanks for responding iab.

Not really. To be honest, though, I doubt this would significantly improve acoustics. The difference would probably be barely discernible if at all. I decided to do it more for aesthetics and to have a more accurate mental model of the function by highlighting the part that contributes to 95% of the acoustics.