Help! stuck in a school without ID! what to do!?

I am asking for your advice on my issue.

I am currently a student at the university of maine (orono) enrolled in the Mechanical engineering dept. and basically - it sucks. After last springs trip to palo alto to visit many big ID firms (ideo etc) i have my heart set on being an ID major.

BUT------- there is no ID major at my school.

the way i see it I need to leave the school to really get a true ID degree, but i was wondering if there was any majors, classes, things i could do to use up my time at umaine. I love umaine- so can i switch colleges from engineering to arts and start taking design courses? or is it a better bet to stick with engineering for a second year which i detest.

sorry if this is jumbled- alot going inside my head.

I would like to goto a school with ID reasonably close to maine, i went to Ucolorado two semesters ago and discovered im really a yankee at heart, so are schools in boston a good choice?

thanks
TJ

if you want to major in id, it sounds like you will have to transfer. it sounds like you like the school you are at, you will have a hard time. if id is what you really want to do you will have to make sacrafices.

trust me though. you will be having much more fun doing id so your new school will be better.

dont know much about the east cost design schools though.

david

Mass Art and Wentworth both have ID programs in Boston.
Then there is RIT and Syracuse University in upstate NY.

Design is about getting out of your comfort zone. you have to push yourself and sacrifice for the dream.

Designer located in New Hampshire here-

Sorry, you’re going to have to go to Boston or Rhode Island for any ID programs in New England. Otherwise it’s off to upstate NY, NYC, Phili, and points west.