Help! RISD vs. CCS!!

I’m an ID student on leave from RISD after foundation year (didn’t start the ID program). I applied to CCS and was accepted with a scolarship of $10k per year. I can’t decide whether or not I should return to RISD or go to CCS. RISD is $33000 + living whereas CCS is $27000+living-scholarship. RISD is ridiculously expensive.

From what I’ve read in these threads these schools seem to focus on different aspects of design education. I am somewhat familiar with the RISD program having been a student there. I saw some CCS work and they seemed to best RISD in terms of skill. Please lend me some advice as to which school would be best? Thanks!

I understand it’s hard to justify the cost, but remember this is a liftime long investment and wherever is best for you should be your choice.

It’s an exciting time at CCS. the ID dept. was recently split off from Transportation and is no longer the ugly stepsister. They have a new Director are moving into new facilities, are revamping the curicuulum and reaching out to industry.

as far as skills, they’ve always been all about sketching/Alias rendering - a natural result of being a car design house.

What do you want to do after school? Let the desired result drive the decision.

After graduation I wish to work in the computer/electronics industry. I don’t mind in-house or consultancy as long as I’m designing gadgets and tech products.

Transportation is an attractive alternative, but I don’t think my passion for the field is anywhere near as strong as ppl who have been drawing cars their entire life. I don’t even have a driver’s license yet.